TMA‐AVS‐01 Alarm Validation Standard

TMA‐AVS‐01 Alarm Validation Standard

What it is and How it Assists PVM


The Monitoring Association (TMA) has a set of standards to measure the scoring an alarm receives for detecting unauthorized activity picked up by a security system. This standard is called TMA‐AVS‐01, and TMA employs it primarily to help law enforcement decide what the appropriate course of action is for different situations, such as resource allocation and calls-for-service prioritization. To accomplish this, TMA‐AVS‐01 classifies instances of alarm activation into five levels that help authorities to determine how to respond appropriately. The classifications are as follows:


  • Alarm level 0 – No call for service
  • Alarm level 1 – Call for service with limited information available
  • Alarm level 2 – Call for service for likely human presence with unknown intent
  • Alarm level 3 – Call for service with a confirmed threat to property
  • Alarm level 4 – Call for service with a confirmed threat to life


With TMA‐AVS‐01, calls for service to Emergency Communications Centers (ECC) can help authorities respond with an appropriate number of responders and resources based on the situation.


Benefits of TMA‐AVS‐01

With these standards for scoring alarms, TMA can better prepare officers that arrive on the scene with better information before they come and improve the situational awareness of both security personnel and responders alike. Response intel and logistics can also be improved through Proactive Video Monitoring (PVM) by tracking would-be criminals on the scene in real-time, leading to improved chances of apprehending the intruder without incident once authorities arrive on the scene.


To learn more about TMA‐AVS‐01 and its benefits, visit TMA’s page here!